freedom to curb freedom

I’ve been looking for comprehensive videos on hate speech for a while and thought this one was pretty good. I think the problem of hate speech is probably the best argument against the BBC putting Nick Griffin on Question time. Whether what Griffin said can be classed as hate speech isn’t too difficult to work out, especially once you watch this video, and that realisation just really scares me. I was having a conversation with a friend on facebook about this a couple of weeks ago, and back then I think I was at a point when maybe I didn’t want to admit to myself the full extent of damage it could cause having the BNP on QT. Hopefully with my friend’s permission, I can recount our conversation in this post soon…

 

Leave a Reply

