“The French don’t have a word for entrepreneur.”

I found this flashy video promoting an American entrepreneurship programme. on Gwen Bell’s blog. According to the vid, entrepreneurs are the font of all human progress. Not writers, scientists, artists, politicians, bureacrats, philosophers, singers named Bob and definitely not you 9to5 rats.
Okay, I’m being a grump, because actually a) this is a well produced video and b) striking out on your own isn’t easy so if something gives you a little bit of a motivational boost, then that’s alright by me.
I think it’s just a bit glib that’s all, what with the entrepreneurs built this land vibe. I mean to an extent it’s true, but a bit unfair on the slave-owners, carpet-baggers and treaty-breaking thieving governments that contributed too.
Boy, I’m gripey today. Mental note; stop listening to agit-prop hip hop whilst posting.

I found this flashy video on Gwen Bell’s blog. It’s a promo for an American entrepreneurship programme by Sonja Jacobs and Brit designer Ben White.

It’s a very well produced, well thought out video. Whilst I’m not sure that I entirely agree with the sentiment, striking out on your own isn’t easy so if something gives you a little bit of a motivational boost and encouragement, then I guess it’s definitely done it’s job.

It’s still true that America is probably the best place in the world to be an entrepreneur, and that striking out on your own is much more part of the cultural DNA than here maybe, which is odd considering that we were once (derogatorily) called a nation of shopkeepers. I think this is partly because Americans are more positive about the process than us? I get the sense that if your business fails in the States, then it doesn’t take much to allow you to get back up and try again, whereas here we stigmatise failure, both culturally and administratively. Is this a fair analysis?

I think where this is changing though is in left-field social enterprises like GoodGym, where I think we’re is forging ahead. And it seems that there’s plenty of support and nurturing out there for young people who have business ideas that contribute to a social not just financial goal, such as Social Innovation Camp and Launchpad at the Young Foundation.

If you’re trying to start something on your own, good luck to ya I say!

One thought on ““The French don’t have a word for entrepreneur.”

Leave a Reply

